• Protecting Water and Farmland in Simcoe County

Tiny Marsh Phragmites Project 2022

By
In Environment
Jul 20th, 2022
0 Comments
425 Views

“Phrag Free” Tiny Marsh Program: Year 2

This is M-T-M Conservation Association’s second year of a three-year program to control the presence and spread of the invasive plant known as Phragmites Reed at the Tiny Marsh Provincial Wildlife Area.

Volunteer work parties did a terrific job in 2021 knocking down and removing several established stands of Phragmites, and we’re back at it again this year! Using the hand-held cane cutters, we will again be removing established growth in preparation for further control methods.

Work parties will generally be Monday, Wednesday and Saturday throughout late July, August and early September. Two sessions a day are being offered, 9:00 a.m. to noon, and 3:00 p.m. to 6 p.m. Read the following schedule carefully to see which work party best fits your time (note that not all days are offered every week).

Work Date

Morning shift time

Afternoon shift time

Wednesday July 27:

9 – 12

3 – 6

Saturday July 30:

9 – 12

N/A

Wednesday Aug 03

9 -12

3 – 6

Saturday Aug 06

9 – 12

N/A

Monday Aug 08

9 – 12

3 – 6

Wednesday Aug 10

10 – 1:00 Special cutting day at Matchedash Bay Provincial Wildlife Area

N/A

Monday Aug 15

N/A

3 – 6

Wednesday Aug 17:

9 – 12

3 – 6

Saturday Aug 20:

9 – 12

N/A

Monday Aug 22:

N/A

3 – 6

Wednesday Aug 24:

N/A

3 – 6

Saturday Aug 27:

9 – 12

N/A

Monday Aug 29:

9 – 12

3 – 6

Wednesday Aug 31:

9 – 12

3 – 6

Saturday Sept 03:

9 – 12

N/A

Step 1. Please read the above chart carefully to determine which day and shift that you would like to participate. (suggest that you print the sheet and then highlight the time(s) you want to register for.)

Step 2. Send an e-mail vol@mtmconservation.org to register that time.

Step 3. You will then receive a confirmation of your registration as well as a detailed information package.

Volunteers may sign up for more than one session if they so desire, or later add more time as their schedule may allow. If you would like more info about this program or wish to register to volunteer, please contact David Hawke at vol@mtmconservation.org

Leave a Reply

Commenters must post under real names. AWARE Simcoe reserves the right to edit or not publish comments. Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *