• Protecting Water and Farmland in Simcoe County

Dowdall wins second term as Essa mayor

In Candidates / Election 2014
Oct 28th, 2014

By Bob Bruton Barrie Examiner

ESSA TOWNSHIP – Terry Dowdall was re-elected mayor Monday.

Dowdall won a second term by defeating Archie Duckworth; Dowdall finished with 2,453 votes, while Duckworth had 1,385 votes.

Ketih White is the Ward 1 councillor elect after receiving 730 votes. Scott Martin achieved 330 votes.

Michael Smith is the Ward 2 councillor elect after winning 430 votes. Shawn Bubel was next with 254 votes, followed by Helen Barsby with 46 votes.

Ron Henderson is the Ward 3 councillor elect with 238 votes. Patricia Denney achieved 129 votes, and Mikie Van Tol achieved 78.

Dowdall has been on council for the last 14 years, and says township residents are most concerned about property taxes, jobs and speeding.

He’s open to slowing down traffic and has always supported policing and improvements that help with safety.

Dowdall campaigned to maintain taxes at a low level, but still make smart investments and encourage developments that will create jobs.

He also supports shopping local and putting development in the right places.

Dowdall had several challenges throughout his last term, not least the June 17 tornado; it whipped through Essa Township around the supper hour, leaving 100 families homeless while others had to clean up downed trees and debris.

The municipality applied for provincial funding under the Ontario Disaster Relief Assistance Program, only to be told earlier this month by the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing the victims didn’t qualify.

Most residents had insurance to cover their losses, and the $140,000 raised by the community for disaster relief would help those uninsured.

The township had applied for $55,000 of its own costs, but the ministry said that could be raised through property taxes.

Leave a Reply

Commenters must post under real names. AWARE Simcoe reserves the right to edit or not publish comments. Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *