• Protecting Water and Farmland in Simcoe County

Milne throws hat back in ring for deputy mayor

In New Tecumseth
Feb 3rd, 2010

BY Maija Hoggett Alliston Herald
NEW TECUMSETH – There will be at least one horse race for a seat on New Tecumseth council this fall.
Deputy Mayor Rick Milne officially filed his papers this afternoon (Tuesday) seeking to reclaim his seat at the council table.
Milne said he had been pondering a run at the mayor’s office, but changed his mind.”
“I would have, but Mike’s done a good job,” he said of current New Tecumseth Mayor Mike MacEachern.
In addition, Christine Brayford is re-seeking a seat at the New Tecumseth council table. She filed her papers late Friday afternoon.
With Brayford entering the race for Ward 3, seven of the 10 seats available at the town council table now have candidates for this October’s municipal election.
The Ward 3 spot Brayford is looking to win is central Alliston, the area from the east side of Church Street to west side of Addison Road.
Brayford, the sister of Simcoe-Grey MP Helena Guergis, surprised some people in the 2006 election when she beat out the incumbent Bob Marrs for one of two Alliston councillor spots. Jamie Smith won the other Alliston seat.
Since the last election, the New Tecumseth voting system has been revamped. One council position has been added, bringing town council to 10 members.
One councillor will be elected in each of the eight wards, with the mayor and deputy mayor being elected at large.
So far, former councillor Marrs has entered his name for Ward 1, northwest Alliston.
Gord McInnes is seeking the Ward 2 seat for southwest Alliston.
In the south end of town, Tom Carter is running for Ward 7 (rural south) and Jess Prothero wants to claim the one Tottenham councillor positions.
Mike MacEachern is seeking his third term as mayor and Kevin Kemp is running for deputy mayor.

Leave a Reply

Commenters must post under real names. AWARE Simcoe reserves the right to edit or not publish comments. Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *