• Protecting Water and Farmland in Simcoe County

County adds a new tract to its forests

In Bradford West Gwillimbury
Sep 13th, 2017
Aerial view of the land acquired by Simcoe County in BWG

Aerial view of the land acquired by Simcoe County in BWG

County Forests officially opens Kirkup Woods Tract

Simcoe County news release

Simcoe County Forests is celebrating the official opening of the 104-acre Kirkup Woods Tract in the Town of Bradford West Gwillimbury. Located within a County “greenlands” area, Kirkup Woods is ecologically diverse with important stream corridors and associated valleylands, along with mature and diverse woodlands.

“We have 32,700 acres of municipally-owned forest and remain one of the only municipalities in the province that invests in acquiring new forest properties on this scale,” said Warden Gerry Marshall.

“By reinvesting forestry revenue back into the program, we continue to expand our forestry stewardship, protect more forest lands and provide recreational opportunities to our residents and visitors.”

Kirkup Woods, located at 2175 Line 13, Town of Bradford West Gwillimburyhas been an integral part of the larger Kirkup family farm for nearly 100 years.

First operated in 1921 by Robert and Mary Kirkup, their son Robert Douglas and his wife Gladys Moriarty Kirkup took over the farm and resided there until their deaths in 1991.

From the farm’s earliest days, horses were used in the woods to haul sap for making maple syrup, selectively harvest trees, move timber to be milled for lumber, and deliver cordwood by sled.

The woods has also served as a playground and a constant reminder for the Kirkup siblings and their children about the importance of the environment.

“We are thrilled to officially open this unique and rare parcel of forest land in an area of the County that continues to see significant growth and development,” said Graeme Davis, County of Simcoe Forester. “It is also gratifying to know the Kirkups are so pleased to see the family property become a Simcoe County Forest.”

The County of Simcoe is composed of sixteen member municipalities and provides crucial public services to County residents, in addition to providing paramedic and social services to the separated cities of Barrie and Orillia. Visit our website at simcoe.ca.

Leave a Reply

Commenters must post under real names. AWARE Simcoe reserves the right to edit or not publish comments. Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *