• Protecting Water and Farmland in Simcoe County

W​asaga’s Watson elected NVCA chair

In Agencies
Jan 28th, 2019
Councillor George Watson

Councillor George Watson

News release from the Nottawasaga Valley Conservation Authority

George Watson, Councillor for the Town of Wasaga Beach, will lead the Nottawasaga Valley Conservation Authority board of directors in 2019.

Watson, now in his fourth term with Wasaga Beach, was elected chair of the board at the NVCA’s 59th Annual General Meeting on January 25, 2019.

“I look forward to working with the incoming NVCA board of directors,” said Watson. “As we go forward in this new term, our challenge will be to find the balance between development and the environment that best serves our residents and our watershed.”

2019 NVCA board of directors

Keith White, Councillor for the Township of Essa, was acclaimed as vice chair. White has sat on the board for eight years, including serving as vice and second vice chair.

“I am proud of the accomplishments of both the NVCA board and staff over the past year,” said White. “Echoing many of my new board colleagues, our role will be to use our conservation ‘good judgement’ to address issues of growth and development across the watershed.”

Donna Jebb, Councillor for the Town of New Tecumseth, was elected as second-vice chair. Jebb is starting her third term on the NVCA board.

Twelve new members appointed by their municipalities joined the board at the meeting. A total of 18 members sit on the NVCA board, representing watershed municipalities in Simcoe, Grey and Dufferin counties.

The board governs the authority, a public agency dedicated to protecting, enhancing and restoring the Nottawasaga Valley watershed to support a healthy environment, communities and lifestyles.

Leave a Reply

Commenters must post under real names. AWARE Simcoe reserves the right to edit or not publish comments. Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *